Juvenile Fiction

The Tale of the Talking Trees

The Tale of the Talking Trees

Author: Lisa Hamilton

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 9781477163566

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 317

Join Emmy and her twin daughters, Lizzy and Lucy, as they set out on a hiking journey through the forest. Along the way, they encounter unexpected surprises in the forest that ultimately change their lives. The adventure features excitement, fear, and fun. Emmys main objective is to give her twins a safe learning experience as they explore through nature; but they get more than she bargained for. Emmy is a very protective parent, especially for Lucy because she is deaf. Emmy feels blessed that her two daughters are best friends and look out for each other. Follow along as Emmy and her girls learn all about the forest directly from the trees, themselves. You will learn along with Emmy, Lizzy, and Lucy about the forest from the trees perspective. Have fun on your hiking journey!
Nature

The Talking Trees and Canadian Forest Trees

The Talking Trees and Canadian Forest Trees

Author: James Lawler

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN: EAN:8596547113287

Category: Nature

Page: 44

View: 895

DigiCat Publishing presents to you this special edition of "The Talking Trees and Canadian Forest Trees" by James Lawler. DigiCat Publishing considers every written word to be a legacy of humankind. Every DigiCat book has been carefully reproduced for republishing in a new modern format. The books are available in print, as well as ebooks. DigiCat hopes you will treat this work with the acknowledgment and passion it deserves as a classic of world literature.
Fiction

Hartwell Women Series

Hartwell Women Series

Author: Judith Keim

Publisher: Wild Quail Publishing

ISBN: 9780998195056

Category: Fiction

Page: 720

View: 515

Marissa Cole discovers a family she never knew she had and befriends her cousins Allison and Samantha Hartwell. With scenes stretching from Upstate New York to the coast of Maine to Boston’s gritty neighborhoods and California’s wine country in The Talking Tree, Sweet Talk, Straight Talk and Baby Talk, these three, strong women encounter and overcome challenges and find love and fulfillment along the way. The books have received critical acclaim for their sensitive treatment of the issues each woman faces and how she resolves her problems to create a better world for her family.
Indian women

Legal Codes and Talking Trees

Legal Codes and Talking Trees

Author: Katrina Jagodinsky

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300211689

Category: Indian women

Page: 352

View: 467

CHAPTER 7. Louisa Enick, "Hemmed In on All Sides": Washington, 1855-1935 -- CHAPTER 8. "The Acts of Forgetfulness": Indigenous Women's Legal History in Archives and Tribal Offices Throughout the North American West -- Notes -- Index -- A -- B -- C -- D -- E -- F -- G -- H -- I -- J -- K -- L -- M -- N -- O -- P -- R -- S -- T -- U -- V -- W -- Y -- Z
Foreign Language Study

We Will Dance Our Truth

We Will Dance Our Truth

Author: David Delgado Shorter

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 9780803226463

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 390

View: 680

In this innovative, performative approach to the expressive culture of the Yaqui (Yoeme) peoples of the Sonora and Arizona borderlands, David Delgado Shorter provides an altogether fresh understanding of Yoeme worldviews. Based on extensive field study, Shorter's interpretation of the community's ceremonies and oral traditions as forms of "historical inscription" reveals new meanings of their legends of the Talking Tree, their narrative of myth-and-history known as the Testamento, their fabled deer dances, funerary rites, and church processions.
Humor

Final Hallucination

Final Hallucination

Author: Matthew Maggard

Publisher: Author House

ISBN: 9781449067670

Category: Humor

Page: 510

View: 813

“ KINGS, QUEENS, TALKING ANIMALS, CRAFTY CRIMINALS, DEMONS, EVIL CLOWNS, AND A LOT MORE AWAIT THOSE WHO DARE ENTER THE WORLD OF QUASARIA. A WORLD FULL OF LIMITLESS POSSIBILITIES. A WORLD THAT NO ONE, OR NOTHING IS AS IT SEEMS TO BE. AND FOR TWENTY YEAR OLD MATT PHILLIPS THIS IS THE VERY THING THAT WILL CHANGE HIS LIFE, AND THE FATE OF THE ENTIRE UNIVERSE FOREVER, THAT’S IF HE CAN SURVIVE HIS “FINAL HALLUCINATION”. SO, JOIN MATT AND HIS OTHER HIS NEW ALLIES ON THEIR QUEST TO NOT JUST SAVE THE UNIVERSE, BUT TO ALSO SAVE THEMSELVES. GET READY AND PACK YOUR BAGS IT’S GOING TO BE ONE HELL OF A TRIP...” “ CONGRATULATIONS YOU ARE NOW ADDICTED!” “
Juvenile Fiction

Hannah and the Talking Tree

Hannah and the Talking Tree

Author: Elke Weiss

Publisher: Free Focus Publishing

ISBN: 0982674783

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 42

View: 210

"Hannah and the Talking Tree' is a children s book specially designed to plant the seeds of environmental activism in the next generation. Printed on recycled paper. Gold Medal winner of the 2010 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards. Hannah is a little girl with a special and unique gift. She has very, very big ears which enable her to hear things in the world all around her that other people do not notice.She can hear the grass grow, the wind sing, and the ants march one by one. She can hear birds chirping far away and even hear the trees drinking water. Unfortunately, she is teased and criticized by other children and runs away to be alone. With her extra special powers she finds and befriends a very special and solitary tree and learns about the tragic fate of the trees around her. And now the last tree is threatened as well. Is there any way to save the lone tree from destruction? Will anyone listen to Hannah's cry for help? Instead of just giving up and letting the last tree get cut down, Hannah decides to be brave and do something herself to help save the last tree and create a world worthwhile living in. 'This book touched our hearts in a special way, showing strength, courage, empathy and love in a short children's story. We felt a kinship with Hannah immediately for her inner strength and compassion. Hannah has a sweet sensitive nature but is not afraid to stand up for what she believes in. Not only does this book show children that it is OK to be different, but it also shows that it's good to be heard to and to listen not only to ourselves but others and the earth. Hannah helps us understand ourselves a little better and how we can impact the environment in a positive way. Her empathy is also palpable, in a world void of much empathy it is important to help children understand what it is to care for others.' --RANDI MICHELLE, Mommyreview.com Hannah and the Talking Tree is a refreshing story about a child who adores the outdoors and especially the beauty of a special tree. To have a book written depicting children actually playing outside and appreciating nature is definitely needed during these technological sedentary times. With obesity and diabetes rates aggressively rising, children need to read about the joys of exploring this vast paradise that is found right outside the door. With Hannah s exceptional gift of big ears she has the ability to totally enjoy the intricate sounds of nature that this hustle bustle world fails to hear. During times of rejection, Hannah finds solace as she mingles with her friends and flows to the song of the wind. Isn t this the play we all once enjoyed? Play...good old fashioned PLAY! Refreshing! --Ruth Kitchen, Greening Youth Foundation 'This is a charming book for your youngsters about being different, learning to listen and the importance of saving the trees on our planet. It is a cute and colorful story about a little girl named Hannah who is different than others because of her big ears, but those ears can hear things that most can't. Hannah learns how she should help save the trees and how to get others to help. This is an environmental story that your children will love to hear. The Dove seal for all ages is awarded to this wonderful children's book.' --Dove Family Foundation
Body, Mind & Spirit

Queen of Dreams

Queen of Dreams

Author: Heather Valencia

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9780671797232

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 280

View: 796

For readers of Carlos Castaneda and Lynn Andrews, this book presents the fascinating true story of a woman's dramatic spiritual odyssey as the wife of a Yaqui Indian chief and sorcerer. Drawing readers into an intriguing world, Valencia describes her shamanistic experiences among the Native American people and their rich spiritual tradition. Lightning Print On Demand Title
Literary Criticism

Marvelous Transformations

Marvelous Transformations

Author: Christine A. Jones

Publisher: Broadview Press

ISBN: 9781554810437

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 578

View: 813

Marvelous Transformations is an anthology of tales and original critical essays that moves beyond canonized “classics” and old paradigms, documenting the points of historical connection between literary tales and field-based collections. This innovative anthology reflects current interdisciplinary scholarship on oral traditions and the cultural history of the print fairy tale. In addition to the tales, original critical essays, newly written for this volume, introduce readers to differing perspectives on key ideas in the field.
Friendship

Paislee and the Talking Tree

Paislee and the Talking Tree

Author: Bruce Simpson

Publisher:

ISBN: 1777018404

Category: Friendship

Page: 0

View: 907

History

The Other Digital China

The Other Digital China

Author: Jing Wang

Publisher:

ISBN: 9780674980921

Category: History

Page: 321

View: 428

Westerners tend to equate political action with revolution and open criticism, leading to concerns that the less outspoken citizens of nonliberal societies are brainwashed, complicit, or paralyzed by fear. Jing Wang shatters this myth, showing how online activists in China are quietly building powerful coalitions for incremental social change.
Religion

The Imagination of Plants

The Imagination of Plants

Author: Matthew Hall

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 9781438474373

Category: Religion

Page: 332

View: 958

Examines the role of plants in botanical mythology, from Aboriginal Australia to Zoroastrian Persia. Plants have a remarkable mythology dating back thousands of years. From the ancient Greeks to contemporary Indigenous cultures, human beings have told colorful and enriching stories that have presented plants as sensitive, communicative, and intelligent. This book explores the myriad of plant tales from around the world and the groundbreaking ideas that underpin them. Amid the key themes of sentience and kinship, it connects the anemone to the meaning of human life, tree hugging to the sacred basil of India, and plant intelligence with the Finnish epic The Kalevala. Bringing together commentary, original source material, and colorful illustrations, Matthew Hall challenges our perspective on these myths, the plants they feature, and the human beings that narrate them. “Whether or not we believe that any plant actually has an imagination, the rhetorical flourish in Matthew Hall’s title sends us into his book with a serious interest in what he has to say. This is a valuable addition to our knowledge about mythic tale-telling and awareness of those elements of the animate world that science, since the Renaissance, has always placed on the lowest scale of value. Hall wants to redress this imbalance, and he does so by revealing just how essential (to Indigenous cultures) the plant kingdom was to humanity’s place in the universe.” — Ashton Nichols, author of Beyond Romantic Ecocriticism: Toward Urbanatural Roosting