Science

The World's Greatest Fix

The World's Greatest Fix

Author: G. J. Leigh

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0198037074

Category: Science

Page: 256

View: 208

In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.
Science

The World's Greatest Fix

The World's Greatest Fix

Author: G. J. Leigh

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780190290153

Category: Science

Page: 256

View: 681

In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.
Quality circles

"The World's Greatest Project!"

Author: Russell W. Darnall

Publisher:

ISBN: 1880410362

Category: Quality circles

Page: 173

View: 388

Biography & Autobiography

Fixed: Cheating, Doping, Rape and Murder – The Inside Track on Australia’s Racing Industry

Fixed: Cheating, Doping, Rape and Murder – The Inside Track on Australia’s Racing Industry

Author: Matthew Benns

Publisher: Random House Australia

ISBN: 9781742755168

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 450

Matthew Benns takes us inside the murky world of Australia's racing industry. Dapper horse trainer Les Samba was in Melbourne for the annual yearling sales when he turned down an Italian meal with racing contacts saying: "I have got to meet a bloke." Just hours later he was laying dead, in the middle of the road with blood pouring from five bullet wounds to his head and body. Racing in Australia has a dark and dangerous underbelly. Powerful people play for high stakes in an industry worth $14 billion a year. And they don't play nicely. Yearling sales are rigged, horses doped, races fixed and taxes dodged by high rolling punters. Every day huge sums of money are made by bookies who don't want to put any of it back into the industry. Meanwhile jockeys starve and sweat themselves to the point of delirium - many dying or suffering permanent injury while racing for as little as $130 a race. Young female jockeys are raped, often by the trainers they work for. This is the true story every racing fan needs to read. It goes past the glorious image of the Melbourne Cup winner holding his hand aloft to reveal what really goes on in the dark and murky corridors of Australian racing. It tells you about the bent jockeys, cheating trainers, crooked owners and greedy bookies. Everyone wants an angle in racing, this book tells you just how often that means the race is Fixed.
Literature

The World's Greatest Literature

The World's Greatest Literature

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: IOWA:31858030184216

Category: Literature

Page:

View: 532

Literature

The World's Greatest Books

The World's Greatest Books

Author: Arthur Mee

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112077671334

Category: Literature

Page:

View: 203

Literature

The World's Greatest Books

The World's Greatest Books

Author: Alfred Harmsworth Northcliffe (Viscount)

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105015388445

Category: Literature

Page: 386

View: 758

Sports & Recreation

David Leadbetter's Faults and Fixes

David Leadbetter's Faults and Fixes

Author: David Leadbetter

Publisher: Harpercollins

ISBN: 006016977X

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 192

View: 813

An acclaimed golf coach provides tips on improving one's golf game and correcting eighty of the most common mistakes made by beginners and experts alike. $50,000 ad/promo. Tour.
Academic libraries

Choice

Choice

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105131561933

Category: Academic libraries

Page:

View: 125

Juvenile Nonfiction

Planning and Design of Fixed Offshore Platforms

Planning and Design of Fixed Offshore Platforms

Author: Bramlette McClelland

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: WISC:89013381983

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 1046

View: 653

Bimetallism

Limited Bimetallism at No Fixed Ratio and Bills Now Before Congress in Relation to Silver

Limited Bimetallism at No Fixed Ratio and Bills Now Before Congress in Relation to Silver

Author: Francis Herbert Brownell

Publisher:

ISBN: COLUMBIA:CU01594940

Category: Bimetallism

Page: 18

View: 687

Business & Economics

The Man Who Solved the Market

The Man Who Solved the Market

Author: Gregory Zuckerman

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 9780241981344

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 384

View: 731

NEW YORK TIMES AND SUNDAY TIMES BUSINESS BESTSELLER THE GRIPPING STORY OF HOW A WORLD-CLASS MATHEMATICIAN AND FORMER CODE BREAKER MASTERED THE MARKET When Jim Simons hired physicists, mathematicians and computer scientists to form a hedge fund, experts scoffed. These people would become some of the richest in the world, amassing piles of data and building algorithms that would find the deeply hidden patterns in global markets. Taking the name Renaissance, the company's executives soon began exerting influence outside of the financial world. While Simons became a major figure in scientific research, education, and liberal politics, his senior executive Robert Mercer has been credited with Trump's victorious presidential candidacy and helping steer the UK towards Brexit. Drawing on unprecedented access to Simons and dozens of his employees, Zuckerman, a veteran Wall Street Journal investigative reporter, paints a portrait of a modern-day Midas who remade markets in his own image, but failed to anticipate how his success would impact his firm, his country and the world. SHORTLISTED FOR THE FT & MCKINSEY BUSINESS BOOK OF THE YEAR 'Reads more like a delicious page-turning novel' Bloomberg 'A compelling read' Economist 'Captivating' New York Times book review